Corned Beef!

The corned beef brisket and tongue are ready!  After sitting in the brine for 5 days, the brisket was simmered for over 3 hours. The tongue was cooked overnight for about 12 hours in the crockpot. Both are falling apart tender and tasty. To complete this sublime moment of having my very own corned beef, I needed fresh rye bread. After looking at a few recipes, I settled on a dark, sweet Finnish rye that sweetened with molassas and soured with buttermilk. Easy to make, and really tasty! Corned beef sandwiches on dark rye bread, slathered with a spicy whole-grain horseradish mustard. Reminiscent me of my childhood, but so, so much more grown up…

I think the folks of mrswheelbarrow.com are right. This IS sexy.

Leave a Reply

