Pancetta In Progress

Over the weekend, I cured my pork belly for Pancetta. By this Saturday, it should be ready to roll, truss, and hang…

First, I prepared the belly for the cure. The part of the belly I purchased from my butcher was already pretty square; I cut down the edges and removed the skin, reserving both for other cooking projects. Then I made the cure, a rub of fresh and dried herbs, brown sugar, peppercorns, kosher and pink salts. I rubbed the cure over the entire surface of the belly, then bagged it. It will cure for 7 days, being turned and re-rubbed every day. When it comes out of the cure on Saturday, I’m going to rub it with cracked black and pink peppercorns.

I’m already dreaming of what to make first with my own pancetta. I was raised in an Italian kitchen, so the sky’s the limit.

Leave a Reply

